skip to main content
The project is supported by the European Union's INTERREG VA Programme, managed by the Special EU Programmes Body (SEUPB)


Eligibility Criteria

You should have identified a suitable innovation partner/s to work on the project from the other jurisdiction (ROI/NI or ROI/Scotland) and be ready to start your project by March 2020.

Your project should have clear demonstrable benefits to you and your partner/s and represent a fundamental part of your strategic business plans. Your proposal must be able to demonstrate strong commercial potential. Your company and partner company/s should be:

  • Manufacturing or tradeable services – with 2 years trading history (lead company).
  • Located within the eligible region of Northern Ireland, the border counties of Ireland or Western Scotland (see table below).
  • Financially viable - ideally with Profit before Tax (Lead Partner) of €60K (B2B).
  • Understand the need for innovation.
  • Able to demonstrate the capacity and commitment to support Co-Innovate activity at senior management level.
  • Between 5-249 employees.
  • Only SMEs will be able to avail of direct financial assistance. An SME is defined as a company with < 250 employees / not exceeding €50 million euro and / or exceeding a balance sheet of €43 million.
  • Large companies may apply to be part of the Business to Business/Collaborative partnerships, but they will not receive any direct financial assistance under the programme.

Financial Eligibility:

All payments are made retrospectively and so your partnership must be in a financial position to fully fund the project.

Eligible Region:

Only businesses based within the Eligible Co-Innovate Region and as defined by the European Union, as detailed in the Table below will be considered:

Jurisdiction in which at least 1 SME partner organisation must be based.Jurisdiction in which at least 1 SME partner organisation must be based.
Northern Ireland and Western Scotland including the Highlands and Islands*Six Border Counties of ROI**
Six Border Counties of ROI **Northern Ireland and Western Scotland including the Highlands and Islands.*

* Western Scotland including the Highlands and Islands ie Dumfries & Galloway, East Ayrshire and North Ayrshire mainland; South Ayrshire; Lochaber. Skye & Lochalsh, Arran & Cumbrae and Argyll & Bute and Eilean Siar/ Western Isles.

** Six Border Counties of ROI ie Donegal, Louth, Leitrim, Monaghan, Cavan & Sligo.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now